Friday, February 26, 2010

Hey folks, guess what. I played crap poker last night and lost a bunch of money. In doing so, I overslept and did not make it to the gym this morning. I know, what a surprise.

My lizzard brain has taken over completely.

I will work harder today.

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

On Monday I went out to lunch instead of going to the gym. I can't believe what I ate. I huge fried fish sandwich and french fries. No wonder I am fat. I am actually finding it hard to get motivated to train right now. Really I am finding it hard to get motivated to do anything right now. Maybe motivated isn't the right word, I am motivated, but I just can't push myself to act. I had my week off and then I went skiing, so basically I had two weeks off. I think I got too used to being a sloth in that time. I am even having a hard time following NROL. I don't know why, I just don't feel like it. I did make it to the gym last night, but I slept in this morning (no doubt a result of drinking coffee before the gym and not being able to get to sleep). I am watching my food again on Livestrong. Hopefully I can shake myself out of this funk.

Monday, February 22, 2010

A little home poker

I had a really good night on Saturday. I bought in for 40 and cashed out for 310, for a nice 270 win. I played relatively tight, and I did play agressive. I did not make too many mistakes. I really stayed away from Billy, Chris and Rick (the regulars) and just went after the newer players, and that is where I made my money.

Here are the steps I took to win:
I did not drink very much
I played position
I folded to resistence

Thursday, February 11, 2010

I played a bit on FT last night working on my $50 goal. I already broke one rule, I played 2 games (NLHE and PLO). It did not work out for me too well. I lost money in the PLO game. I did however, make more in NLHE than I lost in PLO, so I am still on track. I must,however, correct my actions. I cannot be a consistent winner multi-tableling. Tonight I will only play one game at a time.

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

I played my last game of Rush Poker PLO. I lost $30, and that was most of my FT bankroll. I had planned in a previous post not to play it anymore, but last night, I did. This demonstrates that I do not think like a winner. I will change that now.

My new goal for FT will be to raise my bank roll to $50 by year end. I will start by playing .01/.02 and I will move up when my BR gets to 300 BB's for the next level. I can take all year to get to $50. The rules for the challenge are as follows.

Full Tilt from 3 to 50 Challenge
I will only play NLHE ring games.
I will start at .01/.02
I will move up to the next level when I have 300 big blinds for that level
I will only play one game at a time.
I will not play Rush Poker until I have a bank roll of $10.00

Tuesday, February 09, 2010

I won a money-line bet on the Superbowl. I really like the money line instead of the point-spread, as it is more odds based.

I am supposed to take the week off from the gym. So I have complied. But I think I will try to get there Wed, Thur and Friday. I will ride the bike tonight, just to get some excercise.

On the budget front, I have slacked a bit.

Friday, February 05, 2010

I started watching the +EVolution of a poker player on DC. So far so go, but I have only watched 1/2 hour. Hopefully the combination of that video and Poker Winners Are Different, I can really step up my game. This combo should enable me to really turn a corner in my game. I have 10 weeks until Vegas, but I also have some tax work to do before then so my play will be a bit limited. Still I should watch 2 videos per week and have one HH review system per week. The key here is to ACT ON my desire to win.

Thursday, February 04, 2010

Well, I got smacked in the face with a deck of cards again last night while playing Rush Poker. That game has wicked variance, for sure. I am sure I got my money in good twice, and I think I got it in bad the other two, but I lost four buy-ins in any account. This brings me to several conclusions.
A. I am under-bankrolled for this game
B. I am not skilled enough to play PLO

This should not really surprise me, as I have been playing with only five buy-ins AND I have never really studied the game. My early success blinded me to these problems, but my latest failures have only highlighted them.

Reading Poker Winners have really driven home the point that I am playing like a loser. A winner would not make the mistakes that I have as listed above. I am commited to being a poker winner, so I must stop acting like a loser. I will no longer play Rush PLO until I play at least 10 hours at regular plo (.01/.02) and read my PLO book AND the PLO section of Super System.

On the workout front, I am a bit drained. I just finished NROL FL1 and am set for a 1 week break. I don't really want to take a whole week off, but I don't want to lift weights either. I am probably going to do a few workouts from Coach Dos just to keep moving.

Tuesday, February 02, 2010

Stupid, Stupid, Stupid

I fucked up again last night. I played Rush Poker last night and lost what little I had left on Full Tilt. I made the same mistakes that I normally make. I am operating in the opposite fashion of what I am reading about in Poker Winners Are Different. I will take a few days off and then reload and refocus.

Monday, February 01, 2010

I blew up on the poker table this weekend. I played Rush Poker and lost all of my bankroll and had to redeposit. If I am going to get real with myself, I have to realize that maybe I am not that good. One thing is for sure, I have been playing 2 games at once, and that has to stop. I have made my February goals and they include some poker-related actions that will help my game for sure.

Looking at my poker game, it like looking at my life. I often know the actions I should take, I just don't take them. In the end, I am not a winner, even though I pretend to be. I will start taking the steps I need to to be a winner in life, like in poker.