Tuesday, July 29, 2008

I made a terrible play last night in poker. I called a raise with A5d as I was closing the betting and the flop came Qd 6d 4s. I checked and the PF raise bet. The PF raiser bet 3 into a 5 dollar pot. I had 9 cards to the nut flush plus and overcard unless I was against a set of queens. So I basically had 12 outs. It was 3 to 1 against me to improve on turn. Could I get $9.00 if I hit? I think so. The turn was a 7h, which gave me another 3 outs. There was now 11 in the pot and my opponent went all-in for 16. I would be getting 1.7 to 1, which was not enough to justify my call, and I should have folded. the river bricked and my opponent showed JJ, an underpair. He read me perfect for a flush draw and I should not have paid him off.

Where did I go wrong? I think the flop. I think I should have raised. I was not that far behind, it was only one caller, and I had no reason to think he was ahead. He made a continuation bet, which may or may not have been good, but I let him have control of the hand. If I raised, he may have folded or he may have checked to me on the turn, making it cheaper for me to see the river. Anyway I played it wrong.

No comments: