I skipped work yesterday and went to Mountaineer. I played 1/2 NLHE as it was the only game they had running when I got there. Plus, I figure that is the game I should be learning anyway. I was a bit intimidated because most of the people were regulars. As a matter of fact, the guy two seats to my left claimed to be a professional. The guy two seats to my right was a pretty good regular as well.
The day started off well when the pro raised PF and a loose player about midway around called. I looked down in the BB with 33. As I was ending the betting and there were 3 other players, I called. The flop came down 232. I checked, the PF raiser bet and the loose player called. I raised. PF raiser called and the loose guy folded. I thought I would get two callers. I bet the turn and the Pro started bitching about knownin he was against A2 and he called, even though he acknowledged that I was going to go all-in on the river. I did and he called. I doubled up. He then went on to bitch about my play chasing out money. I told him that I got him to put in $100, I bought in light. He then bitched about people not knowing how to play. Yada, Yada, Yada. I don't think he could be much of a pro. I bought in light and was playing a good small-stack strategy.
Later an uber-short stack looked in his wallet to rebuy and then went all-in on a raggy flop. The pro called and was beat by low pair when his flush draw didn't hit. He made to mistakes here. He was behind and could not make any money, so he should not have called the draw. Also he didn't understand the guy's motives. After hearing him bitch, I tried to explain it. I don't know why, I was just tired of hearing him gripe. Pschyologically, that guy attached no value to those chips and was willing that his cards were best. Not a great move, buy one you see all the time. The pro just didn't get it.
Towards when I was going to leave, I picked up KK ( I raised different amount each time I got KK) and raised. I got four callers. Not what I wanted. The flop came 3XX. I bet the pot and got one caller, the guy to my right. Uh Oh, what can he have. I wanted some pot control here. He either has a high pair or a set. Turn brought a K. Bingo for me. Maybe he has AK, or maybe he thinks I have it and will bet his set for value, so I check after he checks to see if I can make some money on the river. On the river, he leads out for 35. I raise 70. He starts bitching that he is going to call and before I show, he is going to call my hand. He puts his money in the pot and declares "you have a set of k's or J's and I know I am beat, you sucked out on the turn or river". I then asked him why he called if he knew he was beat. He said he wanted to show the table what a good read he is. Man was that just a dumb call. If he raised the flop, I probably would have called and won more, but why would he have done that without a set. Anyway, the guy was totally tilted.
In all, my reads weren't steller, but I picked my spots well.
Thursday, May 15, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment