Friday, June 29, 2007
Tilt
It is not often that I tilt, but it did happen last night. I played a SNG, and finished in 4th place, that sucked, but it is par for the course lately. Afterwards I played in a heads up SNG that lasted one hand. I was on the winning end when my AA beat two pair when the river paired the board. I then went on to play a heads-up shoot out. I dispatched of my first opponent quickly and was well on my way to defeating my second. I had him covered about 2-1 when he moved all in. I had AQo so I called, he showed 49o, yes 49o. Of course a nine flopped and no Q's or A's, so I steamed pretty bad which the lead to a loss. I then joined a short-handed cash game and lost $20 through complete donkishtiltshit play. I knew that I wasn't at my best, but I still played. Again, I know whey I am making these mistakes, I just need to quit making them.
Thursday, June 28, 2007
I have been making some donkish moves on the poker table lately. What is really donkish about them are that they are leaks that I know about, but keep making anyway. At least that way I guess I can look at them as know weakness that are much easier to fix than unkown weaknesses. First and foremost is that I am playing multiple talbes. I know that this reduces my concentration and lowers my overall win rate. I guess I do this because I am bored. I must stop playing more than one table. If I am bored, I should just quit playing for the night. The other two are less clear cut. I think I am playing to loose/passive. I must simultaneously tighten up and be more agressive when I am in a hand. These have been a repeated mantra of mine. Who knows, maybe someday I will heed my own advice.
Thursday, June 21, 2007
If I wrote a sit-com about the place I work, it would fail. It would be like Three's Company without the sexual tension or good looking girls. Every freakin day it is the same thing. I have an incompetent boss that bemoans the fact that as a company we are failing. He bemoans that his staff does not do what he wants and that they do not hold their staff accountable for performance. I usually point out that this is easily remedied by holding his staff accountable for whatever it is that they are not doing. On the one hand, he cannot mention specifically what he wants on the other, he claims that he cannot hold his staff accountable. I must hear this shit twice a day. It is just like Three's Company in that the plot is the same every day.
I am at a complete loss. How can someone be so far over his head that he does not know he is drowning and cannot swim? Perhaps he does know and that is his frustration. Anywho, we have our regular "We are going to change things around here because we aren't doing them right.....never mind the fact that I cannot tell you what the right things are or the fact that in six months I will abandon this program anyway..."
I have to get out of this place.
I am at a complete loss. How can someone be so far over his head that he does not know he is drowning and cannot swim? Perhaps he does know and that is his frustration. Anywho, we have our regular "We are going to change things around here because we aren't doing them right.....never mind the fact that I cannot tell you what the right things are or the fact that in six months I will abandon this program anyway..."
I have to get out of this place.
Friday, June 15, 2007
The circle of life
When a boy reaches a certain age, usually around 13, the only reason he gets out of bed is because when he wakes up, he turns and there is no girl there beside him. So, he gets out of bed and either goes to football practice, band practice or a job in order to impress a girl and hopefully get her back into his bed. This chase goes on for many years, with the boy waking up and leaving his bed so that he can lure some girl back there. At some point, he catches one and she does indeed sleep in his bed. Hopefully at this point it is a different bed, not the same one in his parent's house. When he finds this girl, they spend many days in the bed. But, at some point he realizes that he must again get out of the bed and do things to keep her in that bed when he wakes up, so he works harder, saves some money, and does some planning. That is the cycle of life, men only get out of bed in the morning so that they can get a girl in there when the wake up. So it goes for me. I have reevaluated my life insurance situation. I currently pay approximately $40/month for life insurance to protect the lifestyle of my wife and daughter. After some re-evaluation, I have decided that I need more, so I am working with my insurance agent to get a new policy. For a preferred rate, it will cost me $90/month. For the super-preferred rate, it will be $75/month. I did not qualify for the super-preferred rate last time. I am not sure why, but it could be combination of early death of my father and grandmother and the fact that my BMI is border-line overweight. I am going to see what I can do to qualify for the super-preferred rate. Next week I am going on a kashi-broccoli diet. I'll keep you all posted.
Tuesday, June 12, 2007
I went to a road ride on Saturday Morning that was great. The weather was fantastic. I had done a crossfit workout on Friday that fried my legs and they were heavy in the morning when I started my ride. Of course, I rode mostly up hill for the first 20 minutes. After I got warmed up, I really moved. I am getting more confident in my handling of the roadie.
I am going to try to ride on Wednesday morning. I am going to do the Sardis-Logans Ferry-Forbes Trail loop as many times as I can in 1/2 hour. This will be in addition to a Wednesday night ride in PV park with Chris.
I smoked a brisket on Sunday. It turned out well. I also took some sliced brisket meat and wrapped it in foil with some rub and trimmed fat and put it back on the smoker for 3 hours. It pulled very easily after that. It was a cool experiment.
No news on the job-front. I am not doing much, and as a result not much is happening. If I want something to change, I must go after it.
I am going to try to ride on Wednesday morning. I am going to do the Sardis-Logans Ferry-Forbes Trail loop as many times as I can in 1/2 hour. This will be in addition to a Wednesday night ride in PV park with Chris.
I smoked a brisket on Sunday. It turned out well. I also took some sliced brisket meat and wrapped it in foil with some rub and trimmed fat and put it back on the smoker for 3 hours. It pulled very easily after that. It was a cool experiment.
No news on the job-front. I am not doing much, and as a result not much is happening. If I want something to change, I must go after it.
Friday, June 08, 2007
I was supposed to go for a night ride last night as part of my renewed fitness quest. I made the mistake of asking Chris to join me. It wasn't really a mistake as it would have been fun and smart to have someone with me riding at night. The problem was that I asked him too late and he did not have a light. So, I charged a handlebar light that I had and we were going to ride after all. Unfortunately we did not get started promptly at 9. Instead, we were dallying in the parking lot rigging up the lights when the police showed up to inform us that the park was closed and we would have to leave. Had we been there at 9 and had we installed the handlebar mounts on the bike properly, we would have been in the woods before the heat ever showed up. I am still going to try to ride there next week, but this time I am going to park somewhere else.
Monday, June 04, 2007
Played in a cash game at Billy's on Friday night. I made some good reads and some not good reads, I called when I had odds, I bet enough to not give proper odds, and I came home $1.00 richer after 7 hours. At least it wasn't a loss.
I rode the new section of the mountain bike trail in the park near my house. It was pretty good. I think I might actually start riding it at night once a week. This would give me two days of riding per week. I could also be sure to add one run, so I can have at least 3 days of cardio. The key is to get to sleep early enough that I can wake up to train. I want to hit the beach at 145.
I rode the new section of the mountain bike trail in the park near my house. It was pretty good. I think I might actually start riding it at night once a week. This would give me two days of riding per week. I could also be sure to add one run, so I can have at least 3 days of cardio. The key is to get to sleep early enough that I can wake up to train. I want to hit the beach at 145.
Friday, June 01, 2007
A new leak
Most poker players develop leaks in their game from time to time. I have been fully exploring my newest leak. I have been playing 2/4 heads-up at full tilt. The reason that this is a leak is that I am not good. If I was average, the rake would eat up most edge. Since I am not good, I just spew money. This must stop. As an added disadvantage of this HU's play, I seem to play too loose. I will limit my HU play to low level S-N-G's just to gain practice as this will reduce my overall variance.
I had two interviews this week. One was with a university and the other with a public accounting firm. Both interviews went well. I do pretty well when I can get an interview as I am good at dealing with people. I just need to get more interviews.
I had two interviews this week. One was with a university and the other with a public accounting firm. Both interviews went well. I do pretty well when I can get an interview as I am good at dealing with people. I just need to get more interviews.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
