Meat Fest III is over. We had ribs, pork shoulder and leg of lamb for 14 of our friends. More friends were supposed to come, but there is an illness going around, or people don't really like us. Anyway the event started when I left a home poker game, that was quite lucrative. I started the smoker and had the pork shoulder cooking by 3:00am. Went to the OTB at 10:00am and bet most of my winning from Friday on a couple of mules. Oh well, I still have $3.00 for the bankroll. The leg of Lamb was put on at 12:30. I rubbed the lamb with olive oil and garlic first, and then with a rub of rosemary, sage and mint. The pork cooked for 14.5 hours and the lamb for 5. The pork was good, not my best, but still pretty good. The lamb was good. It was my first so I have nothing to compare it with. I want to try elk next. The party wrapped up around 10:30.
As far as poker, I am doing something terribly wrong in S-N-G's. I just can't seem to win. I think I am too loose at the beginning, and then not aggressive enough at the end. I need to watch my DVD again. I seem to have my cash game mojo back, as I am consistency winning again.
My fitness is a different story all together. I am back into the habit of staying up late to play poker and then sleeping later and thus missing my morning workouts. Also, I am not running/biking after work as I wanted to. This wouldn't be as bad, but I am playing poker instead of reading, thinking or doing what I really should be doing with my life. I think my wife is right, this hobby is consuming me. (woe, time to back off)
Wednesday, May 10, 2006
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment